A win fit for the King

AN Elvis fan scooped £1million on the Lottery and plans a pilgrimage to his Graceland home.

Jackpot joy | Elvis fan Vera scooped £1m. (Image | The Sun)
Jackpot joy | Elvis fan Vera scooped £1m. (Image | The Sun)

Vera Webber, 69, whose house is crammed with memorabilia, says she will now buy even more.

But first the mum of three will take her family, including six grandchildren, to Florida.

She won the EuroMillions Millionaire Raffle on New Year’s Eve.

Widow Vera, of South Ockenden, Essex, said: “I’ll spend a little bit on my Elvis obsession.

“I’m taking the family on holiday to Florida and I want to go back to Graceland as soon as possible.

“I have some friends who love Elvis so hopefully I can have a longer trip this time.”

Vera, who already owns Elvis-themed pictures, books, vases and a corkscrew, hopes to use the windfall to add a few more items to her collection.

She said: “I’ve got everything you can imagine, but I’d love to get something signed by him.”

Article written and sub edited by myself.


Originally published in The Sun on Thursday January 9 2014.

Leave a Reply

